I need advice from electrical engineers

I have important projects to build, so I’ve been taking an online engineering course. I’m very new to algebra and barely catching on.
The following problem I know is correct, as it is done by the instructor. However, it’s taught assuming I understand algebra already.
My question is, if I were to do this same problem on my own, how do I know if and when to flip polarities, to find the answer?
Any basic explanation would be greatly appreciated, as I’ve been stuck on this since yesterday.

Not an EE but… I’m sorry, I don’t understand the question. At no point do you flip polarities. If you are meaning the point when -i1+8=0 changes then it is because you are subtracting 8 from each side…

-i1 + 8 - 8 = 0 - 8

Alternatively if you want you can add i1 to both sides…

-i1 + 8 + i1 = 0 + i1

8 = i1

The best maths book I have found (for much more complicated mathematics than this eventually) is Engineering Mathematics by K A Stroud. Check libraries near you for it… It leads you through problems step by step.

For learning algebra, and how to think around algebra, I would highly recommend the game called “dragonbox”.

My son (, who is not particularly good at math,) started solving what I’d define as complex algebra problems for a 6year old, after playing this.

Short video

2 Likes

I mean the part where where the negative is changed to the positive. Where the question mark begins, is where I’m lost, as to how this equation is done.

I think @Zwack explained it well.
Whatever you subtract or add, you have to do that on both sider of the equal sign.

So when you subtract “8” from the left side, you also have to subtract it from the right side, which in turn gives you “-8”

(give dragonbox algebra a try. It really helps to understand as it is a gamification of math)

2 Likes

Basically, you have an equation with one unknown variable in it and you are trying to solve that equation.