NExT too close to bone?

The more and more I look at my NExT the more I think I placed it too close to the second metacarpal. I know this topic has probably been beaten into the ground, but are there any reports of any DangerousThings x series(I’ve heard of other brand breaks) breakages due to placement too close to the second metacarpal? Would it ever be worth removing to replace in a better position that would decrease the likelyhood of the implant breaking? I can almost fit a fingertip between the implant and the bone when my hand is flat, in a fist it feels almost right next to it though.

Thanks in advance

From what I’ve been reading as long as there is 5mm between bone/other implants you’ll be fine.

I’m still new to the wonderful world of implants so if I’m wrong, please let me know.

1 Like

Your implant will naturally migrate into the safest area. My 8 year old xnt has moved all over in that location over that time. It always moves into the location with the least pressure. So if your implant has settled there it’s probably where it wants to be and it’ll slowly move if not.

3 Likes

It looks identically placed to my NExT which has been in position without issue for years

2 Likes

Thanks good to know

1 Like

Mark your bone as well. It looks fine to me but need the bone marked up to be sure.

A little bit better photo and marking

meh… i think its fine. do you think there is around 5mm (thickness of USB stick end that goes in the computer) between bone and device? if yes, then you’re totally fine.

1 Like