RFID Guitar Fretboard Finger Reader

I am studying various scenarios for identifying specific fingers and their location on the guitar neck and placement on the fretboard using an antenna beneath the fretboard and RFID fingers and thumb tips.

I want to try clear circular, adhesive-backed tags on fingernails, micro-RFID chips embedded in acrylic nails, and my favourite but not for everybody, flexible implants inserted beneath the tips of each fingernail.

A 24.75 scale neck]is a hair over 51 square inches of surface real estate and it would be helpful to know what obstacles I face in designing an antenna or segmented antenna array that is embedded in or laminated beneath the fretboard.

This data would be used in a MIDI 2.0 Guitar Controller as an alternative to wiring frets and similar ideas. My current plan is the use of the Elk Pi / BLACKBOARD Bundle running the Linux-based Elk Audio 64-bit OS.

​MIDI Controller Examples
[Graph Tech Ghost Hexpander]
[Fishman TriplePlay]
[Roland GK-KIT-GT3]

I think your biggest issue is going to be the antennae placement.

The overlap between antennae is likely to be an issue, as is the size of the antenna. The hand wound LF antenna for the Proxmark3 suggested by Tom Hardness is approximately one inch by 1/2 an inch. This would potentially give you fret placement but not string placement. You will probably still have to check signal strength on several antennae to determine where a finger is.

I am no expert though.

I think this will be very difficult to do with RFID. You might have better luck with some sort of light/reflection based system where you have different markers or colors on the fingers.

I agree that there is likely a more reliable and easier way to do this. Using RFID you would have to use something called RSSI, which can be extremely variable based on orientation and position of the tag.