xDF2 "best utilized by programmers and engineers" - how?

So my son has a few dangerousthings items and has been bugging me to get one, so I took a look. I’m a programmer and amateur engineer (love building and hacking shit, why else would I be here?) and saw the line that said “The true utility of this chip is best utilized by programmers and engineers, but there’s also nothing wrong with storing a lot of NDEF data on it either.” on the xDF2 description.

But no amount of googling will give me an idea of WHAT can be done with it - seems google really prioritizes mainstream news articles and blog posts talking about NFC web links and contact info and all the basic stuff that’s pretty common knowledge.

Can someone tell me what actually interesting sort of stuff you can do with it, that you cannot do with a simple/basic NFC or RFID tag? I can easily program some home automation stuff or a myriad of other things to happen when a basic tag is brought up to a reader. But 8kb of memory has to be useful for more than storing a contact picture. And there has to be a good reason to program something into the tag that having the programming on the reader’s end wouldn’t accomplish.

Anyone know? Any links worth reading about it?

I’m curious, and interested, however it’s gotta be worth it to have a needle that large (gag) go into my hand :smiley:

Thanks all

The xDF2 is capable of running JavaCard applets, so you could (I think) use it for WebAuthn and GPG. I actually ordered one yesterday, and a test card, to have a play with this since there are some implementations of u2f and gpg smart card on GitHub.

blurred because I was completely wrong :smiley:

I could be wrong but I don’t think so.

It can be used with the MiFare Application Directory where each “application” can store multiple files on the chip.