xEM chip write issues

I have tried for days to write to my xEM chip with my Proxmark 3 Easy. Its the whole reason i purchased the PM3. Is it really that difficult to find a position that couples with the antenna on this thing?

I am fairly new to all this. I can write to any fob i put on the thing. However…this chip i can sometimes read from. When i find the spot that i think i am reading from it, i send the clone command and nothing…

Do i really need a different LF antenna on this? Or am i just doing something wrong. I have looked at the DIY one, but i do not feel i have the know how to successfully accomplish that.

Honestly, I’m not sure if it is even reading properly. Once in a great while i can read an Indala chip with an lf search.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

In my experience Indala indicates a poor read, (unless you have Indala written to it) it’s best not to write anything until you can achieve and repeat a good read.

Have you been laying the LF antenna coil across the implant about midway?

While doing this, I suggest using LF tune to fine tune the PM3 into position.

This will be awkward without a third hand, I usually have my PM3 pinned between my left hand and my chin freeing up my right hand for commands.

1 Like

I have it implanted in the knife edge of my left hand. And I have been laying it as close to midway as i can. I will attempt the LF Tune while having my hand/chip laying across the coil. I really do appreciate the help.

1 Like

Yes, it can be.
It is not surprising you can “sometimes read but can’t write”
It’s all to do with the coupling of the antennas.
Reads are easier than writes.
@ItaBeAight placement suggestion should get you some success.

This bit also being super important

Do this a few times consecutively without any errors until you are comfortable enough to write.
mm and ⁰ :triangular_ruler: of difference can yield very different results.