xNT and xEM vs NExT

I’m a service and install technician who deals with many different access control systems on a day to day basis. I deal with both 125kHz prox and 13.56MHz readers and controllers.

Our typical install is using iClass readers, and most customers end up using iClass (13.56MHz) cards. However, I do see a fair amount of standard Prox II (125kHz) cards and readers.

Any suggestions towards implants as far as interference goes? Is the general consensus to get the NExT implant or would people suggest xNT in one hand and xEM in the other?

I know that presenting multiple credentials, even different technologies, to a reader can cause issues. I’m just curious what the recommendation from the community would be.

4 Likes

Interference with the NeXT is minimal. However if you use Multiclass readers, I don’t know of any way for it to discriminate between the 125k and 13.56 side besides disabling the fields using a config card.

Another thing to note is that if you’re using the OG iClass/Multiclass readers they will not read the 13.56 side. Those only read the Mifare Classic tags which is something a FlexM1+ would cover.

I don’t know what controller boards you primarily use, I do DMP or a custom solution (basically only my house). Sometimes the Wiegand bits get weird when you go from 125k to Classic to Ultralight. Just another thing to keep in mind.

1 Like

We mostly use the new SE iClass or MultiClass readers. 90% of our installs are iClass, unless we’re doing something Homeland Security related, then it’s MultiClass. But I wouldn’t be using my credentials at that point anyway. I’ll have to take a look at our past installs and see what’s mostly out there.

I’ll keep that in mind about the Wiegand but issue, thanks.

Yeah, the default for the 125k is 26 bit, haven’t played with the others too much but I think Mifare classic is 34 and ultralight is 40-something. It’s in the HID docs if you want to get into the nitty gritty of it.

/begin Wiegand rant/