XNT Not working

Hello,
I had a xNT NFC implant on Friday August 10 while I was attending Defcon in the BioHacking area.
I was told it would take a few days (like 48 hours) before I could read my tag. It has been a week and I cannot read it. I tried with different readers and nothing. I can see and feel the tag, especially if I press my fist.
What can I do?

What readers have you tried?

Check this video out.

1 Like

IIRC the xNT is ‘blank’ when you first install it. If you haven’t written any data to it, then a lot of readers will not show it at all when it’s blank? eg. the various iPhone NFC apps won’t find it at all.

Have you tried securing it yet with the DangerousThings NFC android app?

Thank you very much for the answer.
This is all new to me.
I have not tried with the Dangerous Things NFC tool but I will. But first what do you recommend I use to write?

I have no experience with iPhones, but if you are using an Android phone as the reader, here are a few things that might help. I also received my xNT from the BioHacking village at DEFCON 26 and was able to read from the chip after a few hours.

First, I would download three Android apps for your phone:

• NFC Tools
  • TagWriter by NXP
  • Dangerous NFC
  • Dangerous Things Support Tool (if you run into issues)

NFC Tools and TagWriter can both be used to write data records to your xNT. I prefer TagWriter for writing data since it has some more configuration available and makes it easier to edit data already on the chip. However, for reading data, I prefer NFC Tools since it provides more formatting and capability information. The Dangerous NFC app was a singular purpose - to lock down some memory locations on your chip which could permanently brick the chip if improperly written to.

All three of the above tools will work and read the chip even without any data written to it. I’d suggest the NFC Tools as your first try, as this will show you the serial number and other details of the implant.