Advice regarding blood in pocket after flex install?

So wifey just had her flex installed (scalpel +dermal tool) and a vein popped during install.
Now, 30min later, the pocket is filled with blood.

What’s the best course of action? Just hold the hand high and let the body sort itself out?
Pop a small hole with a syringe to drain?

Will this be a possible problem for how the flex settles?

:thinking:

Im not a Doctor.

What i would do is remove the plaster because it will get wet under it and then it cant heal well.

the Patch is watertight so the blood is trapped under.

but again - i have no clue - maybe wait for some more replys.

I wish good healing!

That’s usually the worst (though most intuitive) idea. You can easily invite bacteria and all other stuff into the pocket that way, and since the pocket is closed (sooner or later), you might end up with an encapsulated infection… not good :wink:

Like Mrln said, removing the plaster might be a good idea - one question though, how is the wound closed? Sutures? If yes, taking off the plaster is an even better idea, because sutures often heal better in a dry environment.

edit:

I don’t think so. The flex might rotate a bit (annoying if you’ve got blinkies on it and placed them in a special way, but no real issue) or shift slightly inside the pocket, but that should be no problem.

It is just closed with a steri strip

Edit: not so worried about how the wound closes, more thinking about how the flex might move in there

Looks like we both edited the same time :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Okay, so… how big was the incision? I don’t know what kind of flexie is in there, so I’m rather guessing… but should be a small one, I guess :wink:
A steri strip behaves a lot better if it’s in a dry environment, so yeah… I would take that plaster off.
Oh, and just to add a little disclaimer - nope, no doctor, just talking out of personal experience :wink:

edit:

We did :smile: