Amal! Yep yeah, got a question

*Hey there, you’re probably reading this right now! I’m in your head, spooky! *

Anyways this goes out to everyone.

I’ve got an idea for an electronic thing and really would like to make lots and attempt to set up a business. However, I have no knowledge of that part of tech. I’d love to hear an overview and maybe help set up a wiki regarding the road to manufacturing. I think it would be a valuable resource. This community depends on the inventiveness of each other. Things like the Proxmark antenna by @TomHarkness, @Devilclarke new access controller, Dangerous Things itself! Anyways I’d love to hear all about it, and work on setting something up.

:mask:Hope everyone is still staying healthy!

2 Likes

there are some basics but generally you start by making a prototype of your thing… ensure the design works… then when you decide to turn that into a product, you’ll have to make decisions about what’s called DFM - design for manufacturing. This process can be brutal because you might discover that your thing you made can’t be manufactured as it’s designed for much less than what you thought you’d want to retail it for. Generally speaking you will want your finished cost price, complete in a box with manual or whatever else, to be 25% of your MSRP (retail price). Some people think 50% is enough, but not if you want to deal with distributors wanting their own cuts, unforeseen labor costs, transport costs, and tons of other little gotchas along the way… 25% of retail cost is a good target to try to hit.

Then there’s other questions like, are you going to fulfill yourself or pay a fulfillment house? Who will be shipping your stuff out to customers? Will you partner with distributors?