Clarification on implant layer for xNT/xEM

Hey folks, apologies if this has been answered in previous threads, but unfortunately I’m a comp graphics student, not a biology student :stuck_out_tongue:

So, the common way of describing the implant location for these tags is between the first and second metacarpals, parallel to the second, and in the fascia layer. That’s where I’m a little confused.

Here’s a typical skin diagram. When people refer to the “fascia layer”, do they mean the space between the dermis and the superficial fascia, or between the dermis and the deep fascia? I know this isn’t hugely important to the practical process of implanting, but I’m just a bit curious to know beforehand.

Thanks!

2 Likes

Yes, any deeper and reads start to get harder and is more risk of damage.

Interesting, thanks - is that risk to the tissue, or risk to the implant? And how likely is penetrating the superficial fascia? I’ve heard some people talk about a noticable point where they went “oh, that hurts” and backed out a bit - is that true or false?

I’ve done one self implant and had another done by a piercer both where painless minus the initial “scrach” so couldn’t tell you on that.

The idea is it sits below the skin above the fascia this allows the implant to be ‘isolated’ from bone and muscle and provides protection from both internal and external factors.

The likelihood of punching through depends on alot of things including experience and technique if you research and follow the great guides fro DT its unlikely.

1 Like

How was your experience with self-implanting? I’m planning to have a friend helping me with tenting the skin, but apart from that it’ll likely be all me.

Easy, now I did it around 7 years ago in my bedroom at my parents (haddent moved out yet) I used a clothes peg dipped in 90% alchol to steriliize and some more to clean the skin.