Custom Ignition Switch Replacement with xEM

So I was bored this afternoon while I was watching some TV and I saw the post “CaRFID Custom Ignition Switch Replacement (Open Source)” (sorry I dont know how to link the post) and I was thinking that there must be a way to do what the OP of that post was doing with the xEM. But I am a noob, but when I was younger I installed remote start systems in vehicle and alarms for a living so i know a little about these things, but I have never designed a system like this. I decided to take a shot at and and see what you guys though about it, so far I have gotten nothing but wonderful help on this forum. Below is my first attempt at designing anything in a CAD program so please go easy on me.

I would love to hear all of the ways that I messed this up so I could make it better, or if it is not needed at all, I just wanted to spend some time doing something and learning something that I have never done before, Thank You again!

3 Likes

(OP of CaRFID here)
First thing is, I assume by xEM on the diagram you mean the xAC. Also, this reply might come off a bit negative, but know that I’m just giving feedback, and I wish you and your project the best :blush::+1:

One thing I would note is this: I’m not sure to be honest if the relay on the xAC is SPDT or not. If it doesn’t connect to ground (aka if it’s SPST), I would ensure that you have pull-down resistors on your relay coil inputs, to ensure the input isn’t just floating.

Next, are you certain that your vehicle has both ACC and RUN enabled while the vehicle is running? I ask because on mine, ACC is not enabled at all once the key is past the ACC position in the ignition switch, and if your vehicle is the same, having both ACC and RUN connected could cause issues.