FlexDF2 as an alternative for a student card

Hello everyone, I’m new to biohacking and plan to buy my first implants in the next few weeks. My question is this: my uni’s student cards are Desfire EV1 4k. I know that Desfires are impossible to clone, but I’ve seen in other threads that if you approach the access administrators correctly, it’s possible to register your implant as a copy of your card.

• Could the FlexDF2 work? Since it’s an EV2, is it compatible with systems using EV1s?

• What would be the procedure for the admin to register my implant? I put my forearm on the reader/writer and it’s exactly the same as with a blank student card?

• For certain basic uses, such as simple access to a building, is it possible for my uni to read only the card’s serial number? And if so, would a simple xMagi be enough to emulate the correct serial number?

Please feel free to correct any errors or misunderstandings I may have made, and thank you in advance for your answers.

1. potentially compatible yes, we would need more information on the system being used to say for sure but apps for df ev1 work on ev2 if configured correctly.

2. it depends. if your administration is able to register and encode blank desfires as valid credentials then yes, the process would just be you presenting your implant and letting them encode it. if they have to order pre-encoded cards with a registration application already present then you would not be able to use a flexDF as they are blank and do not contain the pre-encoded application for registration. it boils down again to the system in use.