flexNT removal, due to crushed finger

As the title states…I had a flexNT installed on middle finger of my left hand. It worked beautifully in comparison to my xNT! It was integrated into my phone by turning it to vibrate before I went into a meeting, it also shared my business card and was linked to multiple Samsung shs-3321, rfid door locks<— I believe that is the correct model.
I am a welder and while changing out the large heavy tanks I ended up crushing my middle finger at the joint. Yes it hurt, but I was way to busy to let what I thought was a minor cut and bruising get in the way from me completing the day!
I was left with a swollen finger and a small cut over the edge of the flexNT. So I wrapped it up and ignored it for two days.
On the third day I noticed that my finger was swollen more then the previous days, by a lot.
That’s when I knew my finger was infected…so I went to my local guy that does the flexNT installation with a pain management kit.
We cleaned it up really well then cut the flexNT out of my finger. Yes rather bloody…but finally it came out!
Then I went to urgent care to take care of the infection. They directed me to the local ER where it was thoroughly cleaned and given antibiotics…along with two xrays. The time from xrays to multiple DRs and Nurses showing up in my room to discuss “what is in you hand?” Answer is an xNT and an xG3…used to be a flexNT as well.
I would be happy to provide a photo or two if allowed? Rather bloody, FYI.

5 Likes

Well it’s taken me some time to decide how to respond to this. At first I thought about removing this post and addressing things with you directly, but for now I will leave it up.

The flexNT does reduce the robustness of the skin directly above it… for obvious reasons. You are inserting it into the connective fascia tissue between dermis and underlying muscle, bone, and tissue. There will naturally be a bit of weakness incurred.