Hack RF one ... To Portapack or not?

Hello y’all,

Ive been keeping an eye on the Hack RF for a few years, and finally have a project needing it :partying_face:

But I now have an existential question … Tether it to a computer or splurge for the Portapack?
Either will likely work for my project, so that’s not helpful.

Anyone got one?
Can you use the Portapack connected to a computer for gnuradio and alike or you need to change the firmware?
If so, how easy is it to go between the 2 firmware?

I’m totally new to SDR work, I know there will be a learning curve so I’d like to get the tool that’s gonna carry the furthest.

Thanks for the help,
X

1 Like

I’ve only seen that there are a bunch of different hardware versions and firmwares… each one with potential functionality and stability issues? i guess there are some better options?

If cost is no objective I’d grab the portapack. The portapack is just a peripheral device that plugs into a vanilla HackRF, and it can be used in HackRF mode which effectively shuts down all portapack peripherals and operates as a naked HackRF over USB.

If cost is an objective, I wouldn’t miss the portapack at all. It’s novel and interesting, but I have not yet done anything outside of really simple tinkering on a portapack (like watching planes fly by over ads-b or listening to local ham bands, just things to pass 10 minutes here or there).

Since the hackrf has relatively low tx power, any useful communication is gonna need a PA of some kind, which for me is more trouble than its worth vis a vis portability.

A couple of years ago I’d have said portapack was worth it for the portable spectrum analyzer, however TinySA is a far more capable spectrum analyzer and is only like a hundred bucks.