Hole from needle not closed after 3 weeks

I implanted the xLED roughly 3 weeks ago. As I mentioned in another post the procedure did not go super well as I had to shove the xLED in by hand as I took the needle out too early. This led to the hole being directly above the implant. Aside from not closing it’s healed perfectly fine. There’s been no infection, itching, etc. But if I stretch the skin I can see the tag under the hole. The hole has been getting smaller, to the point that unless a great force is applied, the tag definitely would not slide out. I’m wondering if this is happening because there is no fascia under the skin at the injection site. I’m no doctor so my apologies if it’s a bit of a stupid question.

I would get it out. Even if the wound closes up, it’s probably too close to the epidermis (read: in the wrong skin layer) and your skin’s always gonna be too thin there. I ain’t no doctor neither, so just a guess…

We’ll stop applying great force! Haha… but seriously, we can’t offer medical advice on this one… it would be a liability. That said, I personally think it’s up to you. If you want to let it ride and see if your body will naturally sort itself out I’d put some antiseptic gel and a bandage on it for now… and stop trying to pry it open… you definitely introduce new germs into the wound every time you do that… so gel, bandage, and let it ride.

If you want to have a professional reinstall it for you, then get it removed and take it to a professional piercer who can install it with a needle and taper procedure after autoclaving it to ensure its sterilized.

Not a doctor either, but my concern would be something getting into the hole and then growing, like a cyst kinda.

Personally, I would re install

This is actually something that could be handled by Teladoc or one of the similar services. I don’t know what your financial situation is, but you should only take medical advice from professionals and not internet strangers.

1 Like