How to identify payment card chip model?

Hi, I am new to this but learning quickly, I have a project of reducing the antenna size from a standard card to a small size so it can fit on a keyfob.

I have cards I can sacrifice I want to start the project on, but my first question is how do I identify the chip model for I can look up the datasheet? TagInfo is giving me unknown. Is there a database for common bank cards or is there a better tool?

I can measure the antenna inductance with a LCR meter, but how to I find chip capacitance?

Is there anything else I need to be aware of?

Looking to share all the information with the forum incase it comes in handy with anyone doing something similar or just matching a chip to the correct antenna.

Appreciate the help, I’m a total newbie so any guidance would be incredible.

If you have spare ones maybe try and melt one in acetone to retrieve the chip and antenna. A visual inspection of the chip might give you some clues.
Also what bank?

set resonant frequency to 13.56 and your measured chip inductance, and the calculator should give you an approximate capacitance

1 Like

Isn’t there a way to look at the contacts on the chip to tell if it’s possible for a potential conversion? Like if there’s 2 certain contact points you might be able to connect an antenna to those? Or am I mistaken?

I am looking to do this to my entire wallet in the end, but I am starting with Natwest UK and then Amex UK.

UK chips looks visually the same, but I know there can be differences.

I can totally melt the card and extract the chip and antenna, but I am pretty new when it comes to measuring what I need to design a smaller antenna that works with the chips in question.

Thanks so much.

Do you mean chip inductance or antenna?

All chips in the UK have antenna connections on the back and the antenna is throughout the card. Starling is the only one that has a CoM.