Implant shipment arrived with poly bag not sealed. Still Safe?

Hi, all. I am new to the word of implants and biohacking. I’m super excited to get my first (NExT) implant installed.

However, the package that I received contained a non-sealed poly bag. It appears that the heat-seal on one side of the poly bag went right over the corner of the paper packaging for the injector and didn’t seal. There is a big ~50 mm gap that is not sealed. The big scary orange label, and the kit unboxing webpage says not to open the poly bag until you are ready to implant the chip.

I’m wondering how strictly this has to be followed. I actually work in an industry that sells EO gas sterilized medical devices, and I was under the impression the paper alone is effective at maintaining sterility. Additionally, surely the items are sterilized first, and then sealed in the (non-sterile?) poly bag? But I do understand that it’s still paper, and even a tiny hole or puncture is all it takes… The retail box as well as the shipping box were in good condition, so I don’t think it was crushed or otherwise abused.

Any advice on if I can ignore this hole?
If it matters, the stamp indicates that it was sterilized in January.

Thanks a bunch.

I opened a bag and wasn’t able to install it at the time unfortunately, but I’ve got no plans to install it since it’s already opened. Don’t want to risk it. I would use the help button on the site, or Amal might reply here regarding the packaging.

Edit: Looks like the paper got in-between the sealing point and prevented a good seal. Dealt with that at my old job setting up heat sealers for surgical masks. Probably someone rushing and didn’t properly look at the bag.

Edit2: You might be able to find a piercer with an autoclave that can sterilize the implant before install.

2 Likes

Yes, that’s how it works. But I’d still ask @amal his opinion with regards to safety.

1 Like

Thanks, guys. I’ve reached out about this. Will report…