Is it possible to clone a university ID card?

Hey all,

Pretty new here, but I’ve been wanting to get an implant for a few years now. Just started seriously researching, as this summer I’ll be able to. That said, I’m a total newbie and would appreciate anyone who can answer some of my questions and/or point me in the right direction.

Long term, I’d like an implant that will be able to open doors, etc. and make contactless payments (which I understand is possible once Visa/MasterCard allows it). Would I be correct in assuming that the NExT chip is best for my needs, then?

Secondly, how does programming the chips work? Do I need a separate device, or is it possible to use my phone?

Finally, in the short term, the biggest use for my implant will be cloning my university ID (currently a senior and figure this is a great way to get comfortable with the tech). Before I pull the trigger, though, I’d like to confirm that it’s possible. I used NFC TagInfo on my ID, and the results are posted below. Would this work with the NExT chip?

Thanks so much for any advice!

1 Like

It appears to be a desfire ev2 2kb tag. It’s not clonable since the applications on these chips are secured well.

3 Likes

Thanks for the response. So cloning is off the table, but would that type of system be possible to add to a chip, assuming the IT department is willing?

1 Like

Hello and welcome!

A couple things about this:
EMV allowing implants on their networks as far as I know isn’t exactly in the “near future” stage, so I don’t think that’s something you should get your hopes too high for.

At the moment, there’s only one pre-made implant that could actually handle payments, and that’s the Vivokey Apex Flex, the NExT will never do payments.

You could however look into a payment conversion, which has its own benefits and drawbacks