ISO pet chip changing frequency

Hey guys!

I have 2 Surepet feeders for my cats. They have been working fine until 2 months ago one of them had a problem with its serial number all the sudden so the customer service updated the feeder with a new serial number.
It solved the problem but lately i’ve been having another problem with that same feeder.
And i dont know if the problem has anything to do with this update (seemed the most logic thing to me), but my cat now has to wait over 1 or 1,5 minute before it finally reads its chip and opens. Causing him to walk away and not eat.
So i contacted the customer service again and the chip that came with the feeder (to hang on a collar) works just fine so they said that sometimes these ISO chips change frequency and they would update the feeder to a higher frequency.
Which also didnt help.
Now they tell me that he just has to wear a collar all the time with the chip that came with the feeder.
I could be really wrong since i have no knowledge about chips, but it just felt like a weird story that they sometimes change frequency.
That would mean that when my cat gets lost and someone finds him they cant scan his chip.
And why even bother making a feeder that works with chips if it doesn’t work properly.
So my question to you guys is… can these ISO chips change frequency or something like it?

Are either the chips or the reader in an area that is prone to temperature swings?

No, they are in the hallway. The front door is inside the building so no cold or heat comes in.

And the cats are indoor cats?
I’d just be curious if the “wait time” disappears if you leave the chip off the cat, storing it at room temperature and manually test it randomly.

I mean it could certainly be a software issue.

They are indoor cats yes. But the chip that it has trouble to read is the one in his neck under his skin. The one on the collar (i think its called a tag in english) works perfectly fine.