Limitations of the SmartPGP app?

So I was looking at the repository for the SmartPGP app (GitHub - github-af/SmartPGP: SmartPGP is a JavaCard implementation of the OpenPGP card specifications) and I saw that there are a number of limitations around Secure Messaging - can anyone explain what this means in laymans terms? I’m a software engineer, I’ve studied the basics of encryption academically, and I’ve used PGP before, but this isn’t really my area so I’m wondering if someone who’s more knowledgeable than me could give me a TL;DR

@StarGate01 correct me if I’m wrong here… but…

Okay so… when you want to communicate with some other machine, you can do it through plain text or unencrypted communication… You can send your bites and bits over a modem, DSL, cable modem, Wi-Fi, whatever your medium is… even NFC … you can send and receive data unencrypted…

Or… If the machine is smart enough, you can set up a secure encrypted channel using diffie helman key exchange or something similar so you don’t have to share a symmetric key to get a secure channel set up… just like how your browser can set up a secure channel over SSL with the web server.

“Secure channel” is just a way to ensure the data flowing to and from the secure element over NFC is done so through a secure channel.

The code required to set up an operate this secure channel is a little chunky, and it’s a pretty narrow attack vector because a sniffer would have to be physically between your NFC reader and the NFC transponder… so the benefit vs memory use isn’t typically worth it for most people, hence there is a version without secure channel support for chips with ram and eeprom limitations.

I think you’ve got the core right and some of the details not quite right.

• Yes, Secure Messaging is about securing the link between the smartcard and the computer using it.