Newbie with a fresh xnt install

Im still learning and reading but ill post my travels so far. Ive implanted the xNT chip in myself with no issues. No swelling or bruising so im good to go. Used the DT app to secure my chip. No problems. I bought the NFC pro app (and task). I then read my chip successfully and then filled out the V Card to write. It then says the chip needs to be formated. I did. Then i write the V Card but it comes up as not enough memory to write it. My attempt was some 160 bytes. I then reduced the size untill i could just write my fist name at some 50 bytes and it was successful. What am i doing wrong as to have such a small amount of avalible space? Then i decided to try a diffrent approach. I had bought a eGeeTouch luggage lock. The tag that comes with it works fine and is read by my cheap Chinese usb reader. So i attempted to use the copy tag feature on the app. It comes up with a read error. So I beseech the bio hack community to inform me of my errors. Im hoping to install the Samsung lock at my home and a reader for my car. I just need to puzzle out a few things before commiting to those projects. Thanks

First, have a read of this post and my response; https://forum.dangerousthings.com/t/dnfc-and-password-protection

The important thing there for you is the last couple paragraphs where I talk about how badly other NFC software is written. In your case, the “formatting” that was done was not done correctly and NFC Tools is not properly detecting tag size. It’s not even reading or respecting the CC data written to page 03 which tells the NFC reader device the size of the tag it is reading.

Download our Support Tool and run the Blank NDEF process on your xNT. That should clear your NDEF record and let you try writing a full record.

2 Likes