Newbie with xEM and cloning

So I recently bought a xEM from Digiwell and I have some questions about cloning and cloning devices.
I have read through the forum and have tried to get an understanding of how to clone and what it can do to my chip.
So my question is which cloner to get, or parts for a possible DIY cloner?
I have read that the blue handheld cloners from China set a password, but how does that affect the use? Its really the cheapest way to go, but what are the downside?
I have looked a bit a the proxmark3 but I find it quite expensive and not in my price range…
Is there any other alternatives that functions good and is somewhat cheap?

Thanks in advance!

Hey, I am also new to the space, with that being said take what I say with a grain of salt. Firstly the passcode is set to prevent malicious or accidental writes from being performed, as long as you use the same cloner this should give you no problems. However in some cases the passcode may become corrupted due to “tearing”, in such instances the passcode is changed, and there is know way to know what the new code may have been set to. This would result in the transponder becoming read only, unless you are able to brute force the passcode. Regarding The cloner, it has been removed off of the store due to the possibility of it “bricking” the implant. This is not the cloners fault, but rather could occur between any T5577 based tag, meaning that the possibility of this happening exists while using almost any cloner. In the event that the tag becomes unresponsive upon the use of the cloner, a proxmark3 is needed to resolve the issue.

More information regarding cloning xEM can be found here: