Proxmark3 Easy - Curriously Doging Flashing

Hi everyone. Just want to start with saying I’m quite new to this so please forgive any ignorance. Been floating around for a little while and have been enjoying myself.

So funny enough this post here was originally written out in the inverse. I was having this problem. But while writing it I seem to have come across a set of steps that fixed the issue. So since it was very strange, and I already have a lot typed out, and I couldn’t find any other reference to something like this happening, I morphed this post into information that someone who is having the same bizarre problem might be able to use. I’m not quite sure if its in the correct catagory anymore, but “share information” is under Projects so that’s where I’ve selected.

I picked up a Proxmark3 Easy quite a while ago, toyed around with it, and then got separated from it in a move. I have recently been reunited with it and was attempting to reflash it to the most current Iceman firmware by means of windows and ProxSpace.

Now, this is really strange. When I plug him in, he pops up at COM3 just fine. I then attempt to flash the bootloader with “./pm3-flash-bootrom”. It finds it on COM3, and then the PM3 disconnects (I assume a reboot for flashing mode?), and then the program never get to continue because when he reconnects, he is now COM4! He was effectively “dodged” the flashing process. I can see this in the Device Manager for windows. (Something to note, when I unplug and replug him, he jumps back to COM3) Here is a screenshot:

So next thing, will it flash correctly with it on COM4? It seems to at first and then it seems to have not. Here is a screenshot when I run it on COM4:

Looks like it has worked. And something to note, Device Manager now declares the PM3 to be back on COM3. But. When I go and run “./pm3-flash-all” it tells me the bootloader is outdated, and that I need to run “./pm3-flash-bootrom”: