Question about generic Chinese Cloner

Good day; I am new to RFID and hoped someone could help me with some basic info.

Regarding these generic RFID cloners that come out of China…

My arduino takes about 5 seconds to read the entire 1K of memory, but the chinese cloner takes only milliseconds to clone. This leads me to believe that either the arduino runs at a fraction of the clock speed of the other device, or that the chinese cloner only copies the UID.

So do they simply copy the UID or do they copy the contents of the entire card? And do I need to copy the entire memory contents for the cloned card to work?

Thanks

What kind of card are you talking about? I don’t think cloners typically copy “user” memory, just the UID and any needed keys.

1 Like

It is a mifare ultralight card. SAK 00 ATQA 44, 7 byte UID

I have read that most RFID locks do not use the memory- only the UID. I would assume the memory is used for storing user info- name, address, etc?

Not sure you would want the address of the lock stored on the key, in case it ever got lost…But you are correct. most locks just look at the UID. Some more secure locks will use the advanced crypto features in the cards like the DESfire . Not sure if there are any locks that use the user memory. If there are, they are few and far between.

1 Like

You seem very knowledgeable; thank you!

Perhaps you can help me further understand how this works. The cloner I speak of has a feature where it can supposedly clone encrypted cards. For this you must hook it up to the computer via usb and run an executable.

So what encryption exactly is this referring to? and does this have anything to do with the user memory?