Question about NExT and powercards @ Dave and Busters

So I finally installed my NExT chip and patiently waiting for the apex. So I’m a Senior Game Technician at Dave and Busters. The card swipe system set up on all the games allows myself and my game technicians to credit the games and run diagnostics on them via NFC wristbands. We’ve also recently introduced it on the powercards that guests have so they can just tap their card and play games. I’m not too worried about the playing games part but I was really hoping that I could use my NExT to access the technician menu. I’ve tried to copy my powercard (this is what the game cards are called) with a few different applications but every time I try it says NDEF is empty. I tried searching around but it seems like I’m the first employee in the entire company to try this as there seems to be no traces on the internet about Dave and Busters and implants.

Here’s the info for the card in question. Let me know if any other info is needed. I’m really hoping this works for the mindblown factor when I have to fix a game and can just tap my hand on it.

3 Likes

So looks like it is not formatted as NDEF. It is an ultralight so the NExT is not compatible it uses an NTAG216. Having said that they follow the same basic memory structure (There NFC type 2 tags).
As long as it only cares about the data on the card [04]-[0F] there should and not the UID then you may be able to just write that raw data onto your NExT. Not sure how to do that without NFC shell though which is fairly risky.
I would also delete the post if that card is an actual scan of a technicians card if you consider it to be sensitive as if it is cloneable then anyone with that full scan can do so.

NDEF is rarely used for anything security related…mostly because it’s not secure.

Note that “NDEF” is just a standardized way of formatting data so other devices know how to read it. The data on the card doesn’t have to be NDEF formatted.