Reader for xNT NFC Tag [NTAG216]

I saw a video about dangerous things a while ago. It looked great and I aways dreamed. Recently I’ve been incorporating several DIY home automation systems to my home as it’s going through some changes.

I had a eureka moment about dangerous things. I hate keys, and I was looking at getting a xNT NFC Tag [NTAG216] chip, along with a Asec IGEST strike release to put some of my node mcu’s to good use.

The trouble is I’m a novice when it comes to electronics & code. I understand basics, I hand built my own mech keyboard based on a teensy 2.0 etc. But I can’t just jump into something knowing what exactly to do.

One of my main problems is that I can’t seem to find a decent (Yet cheap) reader to go on the wall outside my door, something that can’t easily be pryed off and bypassed. I want to ideally connect it up to a nodemcu that will be running code that will recognize my and a few select other chips/tags to gain access. I’d then have it send a signal to power on a relay that would in turn power the strike release allowing it to be opened. I would also like to add a function to have my alarm system turned on and off by the tag. That would be very convenient, but that can wait.

I am currently refurbishing the outside of my door and thus need parts quite urgently. I am UK based JIC.

Dependant on the success of this, I’d really like to have my car RFID enabled. No more keys! Anyway, I appreciate any advice.

Cheers

EDIT: Also I was wondering would it be better to use a 125 chip as opposed to the 13.something NFC tag?

2 Likes

Hi Cactus,

I think you might find our PN532 reader should work ok. You would need to connect it to a teensy or arduino or some kind of microcontroller to do authentication, but it should work.