Reading LTO-CM tape RFID

I’m attempting to read an LTO-7 tape that the drive refuses to load. I suspect the LTO-CM RFID isn’t working.

A number of people have said the ACR122U should read LTO-CM tags, so I bought a cheap one from Amazon

to check it, but in Linux (using nfc-list) and in Windows (using Advanced Card Systems nfctoolsgui.exe) it simply doesn’t “see” any LTO RFID I try.

BUT it will cheerfully react to & read various other RFIDs.

Does this suggest a hardware fault with the reader, or does the reader have to be placed into some special mode?

I’m tempted to just return it and get a cheap Proxmark3 clone; any recommendations?

As you may have guessed, I’m new to all this :stuck_out_tongue:

2 Likes

Did you try this?

Seems like exactly what you want.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply, but yes, I did :frowning:

1 Like

So you have an ACR122U.

It can read various RFID chips.

You have one LTO tape that you believe is faulty and you can’t read the LTO-CM from it with the ACR122U.

Are you saying that you haven’t been able to read any LTO-CM with the ACR122U and that you tried some that should work?

Did you try positioning the LTO-CM in various places and angles on the reader? If you are unsure where it is in the cartridge there is a cut open cartridge on the wikipedia page.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I’ve tried a variety of LTO tapes and can’t read the LTO-CM of any of them. I even went so far as to open one up, and pull the RFID tag out of it and place it directly on the reader and got nothing.

1 Like

I don’t know the reader in question myself, but it does sound like it is applying more in the way of smarts than you need and not telling you about the tags that it can’t understand.