Reusing old injectors

I have this chip that I want to implant, that’s not in an injector. I kept several old injectors from previous implant jobs, but they’re caked in old dry blood and whatever else, and probably not all that sharp anymore, what with oxydation and all.

Can I reuse one of them and how?

I’m thinking of soaking it in alcohol for several days, sharpening the bevel on an Arkansas stone, then letting it soak again in alcohol for several more days. Also, I understand that the lubricant that was originally on the needle will be gone, and that it’s likely to hurt quite a lot more than it originally did. Still, I reckon it’ll be better than doing the job without any injector at all.

What do y’all think?

I would think you should be able to, I am not a doctor however.

In lieu of re using one, will Amal send you a new one?

If you are determined to re use it, your plan looks pretty solid. I would try to have a tattoo shop near me autoclave it. (Edit: If they have a plastic setting, see Amals comment below)

To clean the dried blood off, I would hold it down in boiling water as to not scrub the needle and to not let the needle ding around.

I am not sure of your sharpening skills, but the needle shouldn’t have lost enough sharpness from one poke into you to the point it needs to be re sharpened. I would personally not worry about this as I know I cannot sharpen a needle.

If you really want lube, this is sterileand we used it in surgery to poke through. I imagine if you stab yourself through this, it would act like lube.

If you can’t find a way to get it autoclaved, then I guess this would be the best route, though I would give it a long several days. I assume you plan to sterilize your implant the same way.

I am really just curious as to what it is.

Edit: Personally I wouldn’t do it. I don’t think it is the safest, but hey man, do you! And take pics.