Rfid replacing data instead of adding

Hi this is my first time posting on here and Im sorry if its already been covered and I didn’t see it. I am having an issue with accessing the memory storage of my rfid tag i placed a url that is only 53 bytes and have tried to add another 135 bytes worth of data but instead of adding it it tends to replace it. I am using the NXP app on a Samsung phone. any tips of hints on how i can get around this?

Hey there… so yeah this has to do with how NFC works… the user memory is organized into pages on the tags. For an NFC device to properly read/write data to those pages, it organizes the payload into an NDEF message with one or more records.

There can be multiple messages stored on a tag, each containing one or more payloads or “records”. There can also be multiple messages on a tag, but we won’t bother going into that because nobody really uses that with passive transponders, it’s more useful for active peer to peer nfc comms.

Typically the Android kernel only cares about the first message and first record in that message. It does not care to read or handle multiple records. That’s why when you go to write new data to your tag, you overwrite the old data… the Android NDEF library that basically all NFC apps use, will simply say “ok, you want to write some data, cool… starting at memory page 04 and … bzzz”, it writes over your old NDEF record.