Sensing magnet musing

So if I understand correctly, magnet implants for haptic feedback work best when their “dead” (non-magnetized) mass is kept to a minimum - which is why the glass-encapsulated xG3 isn’t considered all that great for sensing EM fields.

But wouldn’t a free-floating magnet inside a glass casing work? That is, a magnet that is slightly undersized compared to the inner diameter of the glass tube. You would essentially feel it rattling inside the tube.

2 Likes

That is an interesting thought. Although, if the glass casing has any hollowness to it, to allow for the magnet to rattle, I would imagine that the strength of the overall implant would be much less than if the implant was solid…or without hollowness.

Just a thought…as I have broken/damaged a couple implants in my lifetime. I am an artistic welder, so I work with heavy and sharp objects at times and it is not uncommon to have small scrapes or cuts when the day is over. The two implants that have been broken or damaged were both in my left hand.

The first implant to be damaged was a flexNT that I had in my middle finger. A large gas cylinder fell over with my left hand ending up between the cylinder and the ground. …my middle finger, the one containing the flexNT, ended up crushed and exposed in a dirty environment and then infected. So I removed the flexNT and was put on IV antibiotics.