Sharing my experience with xNT

Hi all biohackers!

First a disclaimer: I’m a total newbie in RFID/NFC so I’ll certainly say something stoopid in this post. My goal is just to share my experience and experiments and and hopefully learn a little bit more with yours feedbacks.

So first: I have an xNT implants since the 21 November 2014.

For the French users who are interested I got my implant installed by Artpellis in France Fontainebleau 77 (Last time I checked they still wasn’t listed on https://dangerousthings.com/partners)

Here is their Facebook page: Redirecting...

They took the time to read the professional guide provided by Dangerous Things and they did a perfect job on installing the implant. I definitely recommend them.

In the past 6 years I’ve acquired an absurd quantity of Chinese RFID readers and was always disappointed in the reading power (certainly due to bad antenna design). The best one so far is this one:

His friendly name is « KR601-IC »

Do not confuse him with his little cousin « KR601-ID » as this is the 125KHz version.

It’s 12V input and all « PIN » are all 5V.

It’ll consume around 22mA on average in standby and will goes up to 33mA when reading a tag.

• Red: 12V+
  • Black: GND
  • White: Wiegand Data « 1 » (when this line is pulled LOW that mean a binary 1)
  • Green: Wiegand Data « 0 » (when this line is pulled LOW that mean a binary 0)
  • Purple : Buzzer (when this line is pulled LOW the buzzer will buzz)
  • Grey : Green LED (when this line is pulled LOW the red LED will be green)
  • Yellow : Wiegand 26 (when this line is pulled LOW Wiegand Data format will be 26 bits long instead of 34)

With this reader I was able to get readings with my xNT implant as far as 1cm of distance when I’m properly aligned with the coil.

The RFID Diagnostic Card start lighting up at 8cm of distance

And max LED brightness is at 6cm from the reader

The 13.56MHz X Field Detector start blinking at 2cm of distance