Unable to clone a Mifare 1K 7UID tag

Hello!

I just started out so I’m a total beginner. Feel free to delete my question if it’s not the right place to ask :sweat_smile:

I have a Mifare classic 1k 7UID tag I’m attempting to clone. In order to do that I acquired a Chinese magic gen3 1k 7UID card.

I put on the original tag to be cloned and executed:

hf mf autopwn

After that I put on the magic card and executed:

hf mf gen3uid --uid ORIGINALCARDSUID

Then I did:

hf mf restore

But I get errors all time time saying (fail) key A, (fail) key B, Auth error. All of that about 60 times?

What am I doing wrong? Any help is greatly appreciated!:slight_smile:

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

the -k keyfile you use in the restore commands needs to be the keyfile for the gen3 not the keyfile for the original.

autopwn the gen3 and supply its keyfile as the parameter

1 Like

Thanks so much for your answer! @Equipter

I did it but I’m getting kind of the same result.

Now in the table in the “blk” column I have 0,0,1,1,2,2 etc. basically every entry is duplicated. One of the entries says (fail) Key B the other entry is (ok).

I’m guessing it just retried and wrote it successfully?

But entries 16 through 59 give me an “Auth error” still.

The console suggested to me I should try ‘hf mf dump --ns’ and I did it with the original tag and also with my newly written tag. The data looks the same. Does it mean it actually succeeded?

I don’t think it did because after issuing “hf search” the original tag has an additional category being displayed which is:

— Tag Signature
IC signature public key name: PLACEHOLDER1
IC signature public key value: PLACEHOLDER2
Elliptic curve parameters: PLACEHOLDER3
TAG IC signature: PLACEHOLDER4
Signature verification: successful

After issuing “hf search” on the cloned tag it has the same UID but it doesn’t have this “Tag signature” category. How do I clone that over?

1 Like

I’m encountering something weird I think.