Unable to read T5577 in Magic Ring

Hello all!

I am very new to all this so sorry for my extreme ignorance. I purchased the ring with a proxmark3 with the goal of duplicating cards for work. This worked fine for writing to a test 5577 card but have been unable to read or write to the 5577 in the ring. I know it is supposed to be programmed by default but clearly I have broken or erased it by accident.

Are you placing the ring with the single dot side facing straight down over the LF antenna?

Yes I am, along with many other orientations. I should add the 1K side works great

ok with the single dot side down on the antenna, do the following commands;

• lf search

• lf t5 detect

post screenshots!

can you take a pic of the orientation of your ring?

Seems to me like it is not even trying to talk, can’t see it at all

Here is a pic of one of my attempts, I have tried many, many orientations

Try putting the ring in the center of the LF antenna?

I have tried this, standing up, on its side, on the edge, overhanging, and more. I think I have tried every easy to execute orientation…

Hmm… we program and test each ring before they go into inventory… But it’s possible one snuck through.

Try this;

• LF search
  • LF em 420x clone --id 0102030405
  • LF detect

Basically the idea is to try to force write block 0 in case it got so messed up it’s undetectable

Unfortunately still silence. Is it possible that such a thing could occur in shipping/handling? If it is actually dead I’ll get another and use my card for now

Just a shot in the dark… have you had any luck with your pm3 on ANYTHING else? Like an iso card

Yes, I have done a clone of a Keri card out of curiosity. No issue writing to the included ID-5577 card. I too thought that might be the issue but tuning shows no problem and it easily detects other cards.

Ok last thing…

• Confirm client and firmware versions match

• LF TUNE without the ring on and get voltage value