Wanted to Share

Hello, lately I have been trying to translate the Vivokey chipscanlib into an Arduino sketch. The chipscanlib has a lot to unpack, so currently I have only worked towards Spark 2 capabilities (my implant of choice.) AT THIS TIME THE SKETCH DOES NOT WORK. But I believe it is very close… The sketch is dependent on the ArduinoJson Library and the Seeed-Studio PN532 Library. I’m not a professional coder and I don’t know how to use Github, so please take this collection of code snippets that I haphazardly threw together with a grain of salt. I tried my best to comment everything.

NOTES:
Written for ESP32-DEVKIT V1.
Uses the Touchpad-Wakeup to boot up when a specific capacitive pin is touched to save energy.
Success is marked by pin 22 turning on then off, and the onboard led flashing.

IMPORTANT:
The default SPI clock speed of the ESP32 is too high for the PN532. The SPI clock speed is set by the PN532 library to 1/8th the CPU clock speed, this means by default the SPI clock speed will be 30MHz. The problem with this is, the PN532 has a maximum SPI clock speed of 5MHz. To fix this, we can either slow the CPU by using the Arduino IDE, or we can edit the PN532 Library to set a larger divider. Since lowering the CPU speed enough will disable WIFI/BLE communication, a larger divider is the only option. To do this, open PN532_SPI.cpp and change:

_spi->setClockDivider(SPI_CLOCK_DIV8);

To:

_spi->setClockDivider(SPI_CLOCK_DIV64);

Now when the CPU clock speed is 240MHz, the SPI clock speed will be 3.75MHz. Perfect for a PN532.

The Sketch: https://github.com/AbbottDSmith/ArduinoVivokey/blob/main/PN532-Vivokey.ino

Since it is the projects category, here is my setup that I dipped in resin Ft. the first PCB I ever designed:

5 Likes

I have written basic instructions for using git before, I will see if I can dig them up, or if I have to I will rewrite them.