Which chip do I need to buy for HID iClass DY? (New to this)

I just purchased a proxmark3 to play with so I am VERY VERY new to this.

I have a card I want to clone that says “HID iClass DY” and that scans as an iclass/picopass chip with the proxmark.

What am I looking for in a fob that can be disassembled or loose chip (or implant chip) to be able to clone this.

I want to put the chip into my cane (yeah, I’m old :P) so I can mess with my students by waving the cane at the access sensor that pops the door open, and the payment scanners on our coke machines. The ID card I’ll be cloning from responds as a pre-paid debit card and as a wireless ID that you slide over the external sensor to unlock doors.

Any guidance or advice would be great.

Thank you all for your time!

can you get a spare card?

My first thought would be to extract the chip (put the card in an acetone bath)
desolder from the antenna and attach to a new antenna ( grab another HF chip and antenna. links to follow if that sounds like it may suit your purpose) or reshape the original to fit in the cane

The cane I’m using has a decorative ring that hides about a .25" gap between the handle and shaft. That’s why my first impression is one of the implant chips would work. But I don’t know which one.

I’ll swing by my personnel office this week and see if I can get a blank one to play with.

I don’t speak gibberish…

A photo of the cane may help (I have an idea…or two)

I don’t have all the details, but my first impression is, I think a bespoke option will be your best bet.

Sounds like a good plan.

One note - some DY cards have encrypted data that can’t be cloned. You might have limited success cloning them.

.25" = one quarter of an inch.

I don’t write gibberish.