Can one of these chips start a car?

Hello there friends!

I’m new to this idea, and I’m really trying to build a one-of-a-kind car. I was wondering if these chips can be programmed to start the engine of my custom car. I’ve done my research on these microchips, I just haven’t come across any information on this task specifically. Please let me know if you can help! Much appreciated!

Short answer, yes

Long answer it depends on how you want to do it
Nothing stock with the car is going to work

There is a LF module you can get and install, it will work with a xEM or anything else using EM mode I believe

Problem is it’s not a super secure solution, you need to permanently disable the oem rfid transponder system, and then either leave a key shank in the ignition, or remove the lock core

Locking and unlocking a car is usually a bit more unique from car to car

2 Likes

Searching these forums for “vehicle” has LOTS of reading material.

https://forum.dangerousthings.com/search?q=vehicle

1 Like

First let’s learn a but about what your car is… it’s custom but what are you baseing it off of? Do you have an ECU with a key transport based immobilizer? Is this like 1960s technology with just a simple hotwire scenario? Is there a steering column lock that needs to be dealt with?

1 Like

Its a 1963 Cadillac, and I’ll be putting a 2002 5.7 LS in it. That does have an ECU. The column doesn’t lock, and the ignition itself is old technology,

Will it have a modern immobilizer? If it wont, making it implant compatible should be pretty easy.

1 Like

It won’t, I’ll make sure of it. Can it also be programmed to operate the locks? Sorry if these are stupid questions, I don’t know a lot about this…yet

Yes, you may want to have a reader accessible from the outside for the locks and another one inside for the ignition. This is not necessary but it would be better for practicality IMHO.