E-paper electronic tattoo implant

Hello,

I have this crazy idea I would like to share with some people to see if it actually makes sense to build and if it would even work the way I intend it to.
Recently I found this flexible E-paper display with 4-tone grayscales.
It is really thin and flexible, that’s why I’m wondering if it would be possible to implant such a display under the skin on for example your arm.
I already wrote my own driver for it, and I tested it on several microcontrollers.
I also found a suiting storage solution for all the uploaded images, and I think it would be possible to use an NTAG I2C to write new images to the implant.

My background is mainly in microcontrollers, so I would like to know if this idea is even doable and if the displayed image would even be visable through the skin.

Any feedback or suggestions are greatly appriciated, thank you in advance!
Hugo

1 Like

Can you link to the display? Do you load new images onto it via I2C, or are you thinking the implant will have an integral microcontroller that will interpret the I2C commands and translate them into an image and force it onto the display?

Also did you try to cover the display with a skin analogue to see if you would even be able to see it under the skin?

Can you link to the display?

2.9 Flexible 296x128 Monochrome eInk / ePaper Display [UC8151D Chipset] : ID 4262 : $24.95 : Adafruit Industries, Unique & fun DIY electronics and kits I got the display itself from a different source, but this one from Adafruit is the same one as I have right here.

Do you load new images onto it via I2C, or are you thinking the implant will have an integral microcontroller that will interpret the I2C commands and translate them into an image and force it onto the display?