Magic Ring V2 Range Issue

I have a new Magic Ring v2 that I purchased less than 2 months ago and I’m having a rather frustrating issue with it. The range on it is non-existent when worn on the finger and only works within about 1/2 inch when off.

When I first received it, I used it to open my safe the range was amazing. I was probably within 4-5 inches of my safe using the LF band and it popped right open. Now, less than 2 months later, I have to take the ring off my finger for it to work properly.

I purchased the Proxmark3 Easy along with my Magic Ring v2 to program it. I have confirmed the range issue using the Proxmark3 and the lf search command. The Proxmark will not recognize the tag without taking the ring off my finger. I’m relatively new to all of this so I apologize if I’m missing something obvious.

If anybody could help me determine if it was something I screwed up with the Proxmark when programming it or something else I would really appreciate it.

Is it a battery powered safe?

Range degradation is more likely to be a reader issue.

Can you put in fresh batteries and try again?

That was my first thought too and the first thing I did. The safe is primarily powered via a cord but has a battery backup and just to be sure I replaced the batteries in the safe and was still having issues. I also tested the safe with the silicone RFID bracelets that come with it and they worked without issue.

As I said previously, the Proxmark can’t read the LF tag on the ring while it is on my finger. If I take it off my finger and set it on the Proxmark, it reads the LF tag without issue. I’m a software engineer so I’m open to debugging this I just don’t know where to start since I’m new to RFID.

that is extremely strange… i could understand going from functional to not working but just a reduction of range… that’s a very rare failure mode.

reply to your order confirmation email and mention this thread and we’ll arrange an exchange.

2 Likes