My introduction and plans for reclaiming my hearing

It was only 24 hours ago that I discovered that not only were I not the first person to contemplate what some consider as my “crazy ideas”, but that these ideas are shared and have even been accomplished.
I won’t claim to know a lot about electronics. I’m studying everyday, but started from scratch just a few months ago.
Without writing a thesis, I’ll just say I became very upset at life. I lost a lot of my hearing to Ménière’s disease and it feels like I have to pay blackmail money for my right to hear. I realize there is another side to this, but mine is only having a pair of hearing aids belonging to my father who passed away, that aren’t my prescription, with no way to afford new ones. The guy who sold me used ones and formatted them for me, so I didn’t have to drop out of college, was called “unethical” for doing so.
It costs 2500-5000 every 3-4 years, for a luxury most take for granted.
That’s when I heard about bone conduction. It’s doubtful I can qualify to have the $20G or more covered.
Then I had this aha moment, that I just discovered had been done, through the tragus. My idea was making a crown of magnetic implants around my skull, but hey…this is better.
I asked the guy who did my head dermals today, if he would consider implanting me with magnets and that was a no.
I don’t know where I’m going from here. I’ll continue studying and eventually I will do it myself if I need to. I taught myself facial acupuncture so I have it in me. I can handle a lot for “my greater good”
Finding this group means the world to me, and I find myself with a whole new take on life.
If anyone has any advice to offer, regarding hearing, “I’m all ears”. :slight_smile:

7 Likes

@Satur9 might have some input on this

The issue you would face with tragus implants is they rely on the eardrum and the ability to hear normally (i belive)