Need Help Unbricking JakCom R5 w/ PM3EZ

I’m pretty new to the Proxmark 3 game and am using the EZ with the Iceman firmware. I got a JakCom smart ring that supposedly has two T55xx chips in it and was trying to clone some tags to it. I was able to write one HID tag to the ring, but in my attempts to write to the second chip I believe I bricked both chips and now I can only detect the T55xx chips using a password of ‘00000000’.

I have two questions:

1. Is there an easy way to tell if there are two T55 chips in this and clone to each individually?
  2. Is it possible to save this ring or have I already bricked the chips beyond repair?

I have tried rewriting the block 0 to default multiple times and still just get the same ‘detect’ output.

lf t55xx write b 0 d 000880E0 p 00000000

I have also tried using test mode and wasn’t able to wipe anything.

I tried using the instructions from TomHarkness from this thread: Can't write xEM tag any more - #11 by TomHarkness

1. lf t55xx wipe
2. lf t55xx config d ASK b 32
3. lf t55xx detect
4. lf hid clone 2004840534
5. lf t55xx detect
6. lf search 

It worked once to get the first tag in, but after wiping to try to get the second tag it no longer works.

Here is the lf t55xx detect command output for reference:

[=]  Chip type......... T55x7
[=]  Modulation........ DIRECT/NRZ
[=]  Bit rate.......... 1 - RF/16
[=]  Inverted.......... Yes
[=]  Offset............ 40
[=]  Seq. terminator... No
[=]  Block0............ 00040000 (auto detect)
[=]  Downlink mode..... leading zero reference
[=]  Password set...... Yes
[=]  Password.......... 00000000

Please let me know if anymore diagnostic information would be helpful or if there’s another thread that’s worth looking at.

1 Like

This seems like an odd design feature.
As I imagine the antenna is wrapped around tge circumference if the ring, and if there were 2 chips of the same frequency, with antennas running parallel, this would cause nothing but problems.