NTAG424DNA Getting Started

Total newb to the forum, wanting to make a secure tag that i can glue to my head to make sure it works before looking at dermal implants, 10 years of development experience first time messing with tags. Thank you for having me here!

I just got the NTAG424DNA tags delivered, I’ve installed NXP tag writer and NFC TagInfo apps on my iPhone. With the tag writer I chose Link where I put in a description and link to my api and left URI Data blank and wrote the data to the tag. I then read the tag and sure enough the exact link and description are there. All good at this point.

From some youtube videos and real newb sniffing around I was expecting some URL parameters to be generated by the tag and added onto the URL that my API can some how authenticate? What are these parameters called and how do i get the tag to generate them?

I also expected to be able to tap the tag with the iPhone X without needing some extra software was i wrong here or do i need to change some phone settings? Or scan a QR code?

Ive tried reading the NTAG documentation but its utter garbage and makes no sense to me, Im hoping a can get a layman’s version here.

1 Like

first of all, welcome!

so…

Nothing will be done “by the tag”, in the way you mentioned.

You do have multiple tag types, capable of different things.
Most of NFC tags do have a thing called NDEF.

That is just a “open/exposed data storage”, in a nutshell, which uses certain standards to let multiple applications deal with it.

The process you describe makes me believe you wrote a link there.

If that’s the case, then the tag will not do anything to it. when you scan the tag with a phone, it will attempt to open the link.

You are correct here, but Make sure “NFC” is enabled on your phone. It’s like Bluetooth or Wifi: first you need to toggle it on (usually on the same menu as those two options).

It is off by default to save your battery.