Question about what implant to get

hey, I’m completely new to this and there’s a lot of information to go through so I’m looking for a bit of advise on what implant to get.

I’m mainly looking to add my transit card and my student ID to open the doors at my school

I scanned my transit card with NFC taginfo and it says its MIFARE DESFire EV1 so I need the FlexDF?
would it be easy if at all possible to add it? the full scan has a bunch of information so that seems good.

my student ID won’t even scan which is really the card I most want on an implant since its the one I use the most and I often forget to bring my ID when I leave the room to go to the bathroom or to get a drink. does that mean I won’t be able to add it to an implant?

Thanks

1 Like

DESFire can’t be cloned. You’ll not be able to clone your transit card.

Your student ID is a 125khz LF tag. Likely a HID/AWID/EM. xEM implant should clone it nicely. Best to verify first though by using a LF scanner/diagnostic tool.

After verifying your student card is in fact LF, then the xEM implant. If you’re going through with an implant and want an xEM, may as well go for the NeXT.

1 Like

kinda disappointing about the transit card but that’s pretty much what I expected

my student ID is actually HID it says it on the card but I forgot to mention that. I’m happy about that because the NExT is the implant I was originally looking at. now I just have to find a piercing shop to implant it for me.

one last question would I need a proxmark3 for that or would a simpler and cheaper tool work just as well?

Thanks

If it’s a HID, then it’s proxcard. Super easy to clone, and as I guessed, it’s 125khz LF. There’s far too many horror stories out there about the cheap blue cloners, so I picked up a Proxmark rdv2 and played with it for a week before I got my NeXT installed. Someone else would be more qualified to give you advice on good tools that are more affordable.