Setting up a VPN

Ok network gurus… I beseech thee for I am a humble network noob

Just went through the hassle of design a nice mount l
and buying 3x webcams (because the first 2 got lost and run around) to mount to my 3D printer to monitor and control remotely… not an unusual thing

A raspberry pi controls the show, and I log into it using a local IP

Only to find out they the remote connection tool, puts a paywall in front of remote camera access

Motherfucker

My understanding of how local IPs work with outside internet is fuzzy at best

I understand you can buy a static IP from an isp, but that’s probably more expensive than the original paywall

I’ve heard you can do port forwarding, but that it can be insecure?

I don’t really understand this if I’m being honest

The raspberry pi instance requires a login to be able to do anything… I could set a fairly secure login and password for it…. Is there anyway to set the port forwarding to ONLY 1 local IP? Thus making it secure?

Pretty much I’d like to be able to do whatever extra work ahead of time to set up a shortcut on my phone… click shortcut… connect to local ip… login… 3D printer UI

Thoughts? Suggestion? Ridicule?

Yes you can port forward just one IP on the local network. My suggestion however is to look and see if your router will let you setup a VPN. That way you can connect to your home network at any time and not have to worry as much about accidentally exposing anything else on yhe network.

2 Likes

I think it does

I use a paid vpn, but that feels like a different situation

You’re looking for something called a road warrior vpn. It’s similar to a site to site but one end can “roam”

ok yes… tp link AX1800 router supports
vpn client
vpn server
open vpn

so do I need to do a different vpn or can I use the vpn I already pay for? or are they totally different…

I understand how the paid vpn works… mostly … just not in this use case