Some flex questions

Hey all, it seems like due to an excellent deal posted yesterday, I’m now going to be the proud owner of a gen2 flexM1, and I had a few questions about install that I couldn’t find answers for (this would be my first flex install).

1. On the listing for it on the DT store, it says “While hemostasis is maintained, do not remove bandaging for 7-10 days”. Has this been the experience of those here? I understand the importance of keeping everything clean, but as a CS student, I need to do a ton of typing, going to class, etc. I’m worried about having to keep the bandage on for that long, and am considering postponing install a few months til we go on break, if needed.

2. This flexM1 was purchased before the 4G needle was included. My installer has never done a flex install before, but said he was willing to try it, and so the needle method is a must. My question is, I’m considering doing multiple flex installs at once, and I was wondering if the same needle can be used multiple times in succession. I assume it has to be autoclaved between uses, but I’m not sure if they stay sharp enough or whatever. The reason why I ask is that if I have to place a DT order anyway to buy the needle, I was considering just buying another flex implant that includes the needle, and use that one for both. It’s no biggie if I need to add another needle (only $8), but I just wanna know.

3. Where do y’all have yours? I know the flexM1 is a pretty popular implant, so I’m curious to know where most people have theirs. I’m mainly thinking L4, but I’m a big concerned about the possibility of crosstalk between it and my Spark 2 in L2, due to the much better range of the flexM1. My Spark 2 has pretty awful range as is, so I’m a bit worried about it. If anyone has any experience with similar spacing, I’d love to hear it.

I think that’s everything, thanks in advance for any tips anyone can provide

1 Like