Feeling AC current with magnet implants?

I’m a lighting tech for film and TV and I’m quickly becoming intrigued at the notion of being able to feel whether or not a cable has juice flowing to it.

Exactly how easy would it be for me to sense something like that with a magnet somewhere in my hand?

1 Like

I’d also love to hear more about people’s experience with such things. I sometimes work around very high voltage equipment (tens of thousands of volts) and wonder about the sensing range and whether it would be too distracting while I was working.

Basically there needs to be a significant amount of current flowing.

2 Likes

Keep in mind it needs to be AC, and current is the only factor that matters:

http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/magnetic/solenoid.html

Higher voltage is actually a hindrance because higher voltages require less current to supply the same power. Also, for mains voltage wires, they have a Live wire but also a Neutral wire that is magnetically coupled to it, which contains the field and mitigates sensing. So ultimately it’s not great for sensing live wires. That’s why non-contact voltage sensors use capacitive instead of inductive circuits.

What magnet implants are really good at sensing is transformers and ballasts. No matter how well they manufacture a AC/DC converter, the transformer will always be magnetically very noisy in an area around it. I can hold my finger over my laptop charger and determine roughly how full the battery is by how much current it’s drawing through the transformer. When it’s full and it dies down, I can plug in a USB cable to my phone and clearly detect the change in draw, even though it’s at most 2A on the 5VDC side, which means as little as 80mA going through the transformer.

2 Likes