How open are Vivokey products?

First of all, you’ll have to excuse me if I appear as if I don’t know what I’m talking about: I’m a former computer engineer, 20 years retired from computers, and while I’ve kept up with some things, I’m more familiar with assembly and embedded products from the 90s than with modern web applications.

So, being old-school and also slightly paranoid, I like to control the hardware I use - or at least know that I can do so if I choose to dive into it - from A to Z. That’s partly the reason why I chose to implant a magic Chinese M1k as my first chip, despite the appalling lack of security: I know that no part of it is locked out from me, or dependent on a third party’s whim.

With that in mind, I’m looking with interest at the various Vivokey products - out or about to come out - and the possibilities they offer, and I’m seriously considering getting involved. What holds me back is this:

I understand Vivokey is trying position themselves as a trusted authentication / authorization provider, and they document their web APIs in order to attract companies and developers to their ecosystem. And that’s fine. What I can’t seem to find anywhere is the APIs to the bare metal - the chips themselves.

To be blunt, my concern is this: if Vivokey disappears, or moves on to another activity, or fails to update their apps for a very long time for lack of funding for instance, will I be left with very small paperweights that I will have devoted time developing stuff for for nothing?

So I guess my question is: if I wanted to exploit Vivokey hardware 100% on my own without resorting to reverse engineering, can I do that? Are the chips documented? Do they strictly implement open standards or are their undocumented Vivokey bits that are impossible to make use of without closed source Vivokey apps or APIs?