What could the US prison system do about implanted inmates?

This is purely a hypothetical. Obviously, external adornment (earrings, possibly even dermals?) are usually removed except for a religious necklace and an unadorned wedding band. Assuming we have no wardens/judges lurking here, I doubt we’ll ever learn an official policy (or more likely unofficial or ad hoc), but could a prison legally force you to get implants removed? From what I’ve read (e.g. Beyond Estelle: Medical Rights for Incarcerated Patients | Prison Legal News), generally it seems that for a competent inmate, standard medical consent rules apply.

I think a warden might have a leg to stand on in terms of the chip being non-medically necessary contraband kept under the skin for which surgical removal is justified. I wonder if perhaps there’s a case to be made for a contraband that poses basically no threat not justifying a surgical procedure to remove it, but I’m not a constitutional lawyer (I don’t even play one on TV).

Ironically, I bet being talkative about the implants would be a bigger danger in terms of attracting psychiatric attention than a contraband raid.

If you heard of an inmate who was compelled to undergo surgery (well, if you could call a bandaid-able nick surgery) to remove implants, would you tend towards “that’s just how the cookie crumbles in prison” or “somebody call the ACLU!”?

1 Like

Only relevant case I know involved an inmate with body mod “pearls” on his genitalia that was removed surgically

Was a pretty good lawsuit if I remember… there’s a thread floating around about it

2 Likes

How would an NFC tag ever be more dangerous than a hard sharp object on a wire? :weary:
Anyway, I don’t know much about the subject but I find it hard to imagine they would put the effort, time, and legal risk to get a chip removed if it poses no threat whatsoever. Especially if it’s not a big visible one, how would they even know?