How far out are we from implantable buzzers or other haptic implants?

I’m new to this biohacking thing, so I apologize if this is a duplicate question. I did some searching but ultimately I’m just impatient and excited about an idea I had last night and I need to ask.

In the “Quick Technology Primer” there’s a linked video from 2013 of a TED Talk by @amal during which he mentions a wearable device made up of a ring of buzzers worn around someone’s ankle that would tell them which direction is North at all times. He also mentions that at some point in the future, it could be possible for said buzzers to be implanted in the body rather than wearing a clunky device all day. It’s been almost 10 years since that TED Talk; has there been any progress in this realm of haptic implants?

The reason I ask is because ever since I saw the talk yesterday, I’ve been daydreaming about having that inherent sense of direction. I’ve also been brainstorming ways in which you could extend that sense to also tell you which way is up, which would be useful if you were in deep, dark water and couldn’t tell which way to swim. And also it would just be cool to have, you know?