RFID Keyless Car Start Systems?

Have any of you tried any of the RFID keyless car start systems (like this)? It looks like scanning the RFID tag disarms the engine lock and then you’re able to use a button to start the car.

It says it uses 125khz tags so I’d just have to check if it’s something the T5577 could emulate.

I’m itching to use my NeXT for something and these look interesting… It seems like it would be a pretty cool (and affordable) car upgrade to use with our implants if the system works well.

3 Likes

This response from the seller leads me to believe you’ll be just fine to enroll the NExT assuming you can get a read from the antenna.

1 Like

That’s how I found out the tags were 125KHz. I’m still pretty new to all this RFID stuff and I know that 13.56MHz tags can be hit or miss with the NeXT since there are different types of chips so I wasn’t sure if 125KHz tags were just as complicated.

1 Like

just don’t believe them when they say “any 125khz tag is ok”… that’s like saying “any tires are ok for your car” when clearly there are different sizes and treads and some have metal spikes for snow and on and on… the same is true with RFID… the frequency is the first major requirement, but there are a shitload of 125khz tags that will definitely not work with this thing. They are saying this because basically EM41xx tags are by far the most common… so common that they are basically the defacto standard chip type in the 125khz family of tags… but yeah, not at all the same thing as saying “any 125khz tag” will work… it’s just wrong.

2 Likes

Easyguard stuff works with the EM, used it on my motorbike years ago. It even uses the EM4100 id.

2 Likes

Good to know! It should be here tomorrow but I know nothing about car wiring so I’ll have to pay someone to install it. I’m hoping I can figure out how to test the antenna by itself before installing the system to make sure it will couple fine with my NeXT.

Is it not there already? :thinking: