The Ultimate Question of Bases, Binary, and Everything

It has come to my attention that the terms and formats used when talking about RFID IDs among other things needs some clarification.

Well @amal
giphy (12)

To try and keep this balanced between detail and “brain dumping everything into a single run-on sentence” I have split this into vaguely structured sections. Each section will start with an overview, a simple explanation, and then dive into more details. I have also linked some resources that will be much better than my drivel.

Most of this knowledge is just sort of instinctual after working with this stuff for the last 15 years so I may inadvertently assume something is common knowledge… if you catch me doing that please point it out and I will attempt to elaborate. I would also like to point out that while I use this knowledge I am just a lowly self taught software engineer not a computer scientist or mathematician so sorry if I make some errors if someone spots them please correct me, I want to get better at writing so feedback is immensely helpful!

High Level Summary - TL;DR;

Digital logic, communication and memory work on a “simple” ON or OFF system. We can communicate and store data as a sequence of ON and OFF signals known as binary.

We refer to a single ON or OFF value as a bit and 8 bits make a byte.

One byte can represent 256 different values.

There are various ways to display this data, a common

Encoding is used to map these numbers to various data formats.

ASCII is a mapping between 1 byte and 1 character where a character is a leter, number, symbol or “control character”.

So if you have a 4 bytes of storage you can store:

• a number from 0 to 4,294,967,295
  • 4 characters of text
  • anything else you can encode with 32 ON or OFF “switches”

Depending on the format and encoding this data may look quite different. These are all common ways to display the same data:

• 1,214,852,405 (Decimal number)